Need Specialist Knowledge on a Rural Issue?
The CCRI is one of the leading rural research centres in the UK, with a team of rural experts who may be able to help. Our researchers undertake academic research across a wide range of rural issues, including Agriculture, Food and Land Use, Rural Community Development and the Rural Economy.

Major funders of our research activity include organisations such as DEFRA, the Environment Agency, the Forestry Commission, Natural England, English Heritage and the Royal Society of Wildlife Trusts, as well as the EU. We are always keen to disseminate our research findings and knowledge to a broader audience, and would be pleased to help with your enquiries on any rural issues. Here is a brief list of some of our senior researchers and brief summaries of their research interests and expertise.

Professor Janet Dwyer
Professor of Rural Policy and Director of CCRI.  E-mail: jdwyer@glos.ac.uk   Tel: 01242 714128

•European and national agriculture and rural development policy • Sustainable agriculture • CAP reform and its effects on British agriculture • European rural environmental Policy • Nature conservation, landscape protection and management, and the protection of the cultural heritage

Dr. Peter Gaskell
Senior Research Fellow. E-mail: pgaskell@glos.ac.uk  Tel: 01242 714136

•Historic environment and landscape heritage protection • Agricultural landscape change • Policy evaluation • Built heritage • Rural built environment, including historic farm buildings

Dr Damian Maye
Reader in Agri-food Studies. Email: dmaye@glos.ac.uk Tel: 01242 714133

•Food security • Food supply chains • Local and alternative food networks • Animal and plant health and biosecurity • Bovine TB • Badger vaccination

Dr. John Powell
Senior Research Fellow. E-mail: jpowell@glos.ac.uk  Tel: 01242 714122

•Environmental Policy • Common land • Ecological economics • Programme evaluation

Dr Matt Reed
Senior Research Fellow. Email: mreed@glos.ac.uk  Tel +44 (0) 1242 714138

•Organic food movement • Urban food • Social networks • Changing technologies of food • Fishing communities

Christopher Short
Senior Research Fellow. E-mail: cshort@glos.ac.uk  Tel: 01242 714550

•Agri-environment policy and governance •Ecosystem Services •Common land and village greens • Landscape scale management •Stakeholder involvement •Monitoring and evaluation approaches  • Environmental Dynamics and Governance • Natural flood management

Chris Rayfield
Business Manager. E-mail: crayfield@glos.ac.uk  Tel. 01242 714121

Chris can be contacted regarding any general matters in connection with our research and activities.